jump to navigation

Leaving Empty Handed? I Think Not… September 7, 2006

Posted by milkmandan in Merchandise.
trackback

So as some people know, I am in Taiwan. Vacation. That’s the main reason. I used to live in Taiwan (for most of my middle school to high school life) so this is my 2nd home to me. Taiwan, being in Asia, has a lot of ties with Japanese Animation. So, naturally Taiwan has a lot of good merchandise and anime goods.

Anyways, getting back on track. So, Taiwan has a lot of stuff, and I was leaving empty handed. I hadn’t bought a single item for myself, besides food. Now, if I left Taiwan empty handed I probably would regret it for a long time. So, I took the liberty to go shopping today.

With 800NTU (roughly $25 USD), I got the following anime figures.

cimg0460.jpg
1/8 PVC Chihaya Hiiragi figure by MaxFactory, and a 1/6 PVC Arisa Glennorth figure by MaxFactory. Yes, I know there is a MUCH better Arisa figure, the one bundle with Katase Shima, but I got these BOTH for less than $13 USD EACH. I mean, WHY NOT? They are not fakes, the shop I went to was having a sale. 20% off on all anime figures.

cimg0464.jpg
A close up of Chihaya-chan. Now, I personally have not seen Magical Canan, but it is only a matter of time. The animators are the same people who did Popotan and Komugi-chan so it can’t be that bad. I could not pass this one up. That little bunny thing (Natsuki) was just too cute.

cimg0467.jpg
The back side, I am still confused on how she is suppose to stand up. I think there is a curved metal support that holds her up. This figure is by far one of the most accurate that I now own. Take a look at the picture below (taken from anidb).

3793.jpgThis is pretty dang accurate if you ask me. The pose and the clothes are all very nicely detailed. Good job Tomita Akisane and MaxFactory. This figure is going for 4,286 yen on HobbyLinkJapan. I got it for 1,700 yen. So after doing a little bit more research, I found that Hiiragi is only held up at the bottom of her right foot. Obviously it is unstable, and probably through hot weather and gravity, she’ll start to bend. -_- *sigh* The tragedies of Polyvinyl Chloride. Just taking a look at this picture, makes me want to go buy some supports for this figure.

Plot Summary: Five dangerous “seeds” have been stolen from their vault in the world of Evergreen and taken to Earth. Natsuki, an agent of the Queen, has been sent to retrieve them. However, he cannot do this alone and enlists the aid of Chihaya, a middle school student, who is “the only one” who can help him. With his aid she transforms into Magical Warrior Carmine in order to save the humans possessed by the seeds. Questions abound though, such as why Chihaya’s mother appears to know all about this secret activity, why Chihaya remembers her father who reportedly died before her birth, and why she dreams of Evergreen, which she has never seen.

Okay, after reading up on some reviews of this anime. I’ve decided to watch this series. It looks very similar to Magical Lyrical Nanoha; evil seeds, a boy that meets a girl and forces her to become a magical girl. That alone should merit credibility and watch-ability. This anime holds the new type of young ‘fan-service’. It is just what I am looking for right now. Very happy figure buy.

cimg0463.jpg
Arisa~ Now honestly, this figure is not BAD. For the price, it was more than worth it. HLJ is currently having a clearance sale on this item and it STILL is priced at 4,000 yen even after sale price. So, I got an amazing deal. (I got it for 1,700 yen)

cimg0468.jpg
Pretty high quality if you ask me. Too bad she doesn’t look as cute as she does in the other version by MaxFactory.

None the less, it is all good.

In other items:
*Jay Chou’s Newest CD
– I just had to…they gave me a free poster, which I ended up giving to my cousin.

*Snow Patrol’s Newest CD
– I like Snow Patrol. “Chasing Cars” is a great song!

*Random Sum41 CD
– It had “Still Waiting” on it, and I plan on using this song for an AMV, so it was almost necessary.

If you all didn’t know, buying CD’s in Taiwan is about $2-3 dollars cheaper than getting CDs in America at your local CD store. (exclude Amazon)

Welps, that’s about it for the things I got.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

